World Championships Team Finalised

Posted by mtba, August 4, 2018

The Australian Mountain Bike Team to contest the UCI MTB World Championships in Lenzerheide, Switzerland in September has been announced.

Ten downhill riders have been selected while 14 cross-country riders will wear the Australian kit against the worlds best in the season ending event, to join the junior team which was announced in June.

Leading the way in the downhill is this years’ Australian champions Tracey Hannah (QLD) and Troy Brosnan (SA) who are both currently ranked number two in the world.

Michael Hannah (QLD), who claimed silver in Cairns last year, will compete in his 14th World Championships as an elite rider.

While Darcy Coutts (VIC), who finished ninth at the National Championships in Bright, is one of the youngest downhillers on the elite team after graduating from the juniors last year.

In the cross-country former national champion Daniel McConnell (ACT) will be looking for another top ten finish after his ninth in 2017.

It will be the 32 year olds 10th world championships racing in the elite category.

Six riders including Reece Tucknott (WA), Callum Carson (NSW), Alex Lack (TAS), Michael Harris (NSW), Luke Brame (NSW) and Brent Rees (NSW) will compete in the Under 23 Men.

In the women Holly Harris (NSW), will move into the elite category for the first year along with Imogen Smith (QLD) and Sarah Riley (VIC).

Charlotte Culver (VIC), Megan Williams (QLD) and Sarah Tucknott (WA) will race in the Under 23 women category.

A number of high profile riders declined to be considered for selection or declined the offer for a spot on the team, while injury cruelled Sian A’Hern’s chances to race at the Swiss venue.


Elite Women XCO

Holly Harris
Imogen Smith
Sarah Riley

Elite Men XCO

Daniel McConnell
Sebastian Jayne

Elite Women DH

Tracey Hannah
Tegan Molloy
Danielle Beecroft

Elite Men DH

Troy Brosnan
Dean Lucas
Jack Moir
Connor Fearon
Michael Hannah
Jackson Frew
Darcy Coutts

Jake Newell
Joel Willis

U23 Women XCO

Charlotte Culver
Megan Williams
Sarah Tucknott

U23 Men XCO

Reece Tucknott
Callum Carson
Michael Harris
Alex Lack
Luke Brame
Brent Rees

The World Championships will be held from the 5-9th September 2018.

Photo Credit: Ben Stevens Photography

Related News

There are no news related to World Championships Team Finalised

Our Partners

Website Powered by Newbook Creative