We, the undersigned: The AusCycling Supporters Open Letter

Posted by jo-2, November 8, 2019

We, the undersigned, believe the AusCycling proposal jointly developed by BMX Australia, Mountain Bike Australia and Cycling Australia is the best model for the future growth of Australian cycling and will deliver ongoing benefits for riders of all disciplines, preferences and bikes.

Australian cyclists with the best interests of the sport at heart have been crying out for years for all forms of cycling to unite to form one strong, effective and inclusive organisation for the benefit of all. We believe AusCycling is the right vehicle to give cycling the voice it deserves, and to get more people active on bikes to realise the vision of making cycling the largest participation sport in Australia.

AusCycling promises cycling of all forms a strong, successful and sustainable future. Its key benefits include: 

  • One unified voice to more effectively advocate on behalf of all cyclists and clubs – for everything from infrastructure to safety and bike education 
  • One strengthened and aligned membership body to increase the prospect of corporate partnerships and support from all levels of government 
  • Enhanced resources and support services for all clubs and members through professionally staffed offices in every State & Territory 
  • A single race licence that covers all disciplines – no need for a separate licence to ride BMX, mountain bikes and road and track bikes
  • A competitive, all-inclusive insurance product included with licence or membership fees that leverages the scale of the new entity
  • More control placed in the hands of clubs that run the sport at the local level – they will be the voting owners of AusCycling
  • More coaching and education programs at all levels
  • A fully developed career pathway program for aspiring athletes
  • A truly integrated cycling community to help cycling fulfil its potential as a leading Australian sport.

No matter what your discipline, AusCycling will produce better outcomes for clubs, their members and all Australian bike riders. That is why we urge you to contact voteholders who will decide AusCycling’s fate and make known your support for this important structural change.

It’s time the collective voice of Australian cyclists was heard and our sport’s huge potential was realised. That’s why we support AusCycling and encourage your support!
For more information see: http://auscycling.com.au/ 


Robbie McEwen

Cycling Commentator

Winner, 12 TdF stages

Anna Meares

Australian Cycling legend

Olympic, Commonwealth and World Champion sprinter

Matt Keenan

Cycling Commentator

English speaking World Tour events

Phil Anderson

First non European to lead TdF

TdF stage winner, Sporting & Cycling Hall of Fame recipient 

Simon Gerrans

Australian Road racing champion

2 x TDF individual stage wins, Aus RR champion ‘12, ‘14.

Caroline Buchanan

Pro BMX racer

5 x World Champion, ‘12 & ‘16 Olympian

Michael Drapac

Australian Cycling Patron

Owner & sponsor, multiple NRS and pro teams

Troy Brosnan

Elite Downhill Rider

2019 UCI MTB World Champion Silver Medallist

Scott McGrory

Commentator, Host

Gold medallist, Sydney Olympics

Sarah Gigante

Elite Road and Track Racer

2019 Elite RR National Champion

Mathew Hayman

Australian road race classics specialist

Winner Paris – Roubaix 2016

Dr Bridie O’Donnell

Director, Office for Women in Sport and Recreation

Road & track cycling champion

Anthony Dean

Pro BMX racer

2016 Rio Olympian

David McKenzie

Cycling Commentator 

Nine year pro, winner Giro d’Italia stage.

Logan Martin

Pro Freestyle BMX rider

Freestyle World Champion, 2016

Andrew Christie-Johnston

Director Sportif Team BridgeLane

Produced multiple World Tour riders

David Morgan

Coach, mentor

Junior development specialist

Wade Wallace

CyclingTips.com Founder

Rider, writer and founder

Peta Mullens

Pro MTB and Road Racer

11-time National Champion

Craig Richards

CEO, Bicycle Network

Cyclist, advocate, industry leader

Matilda Raynolds

Bike Product Marketing Mngr

Bike adventurer, racer

Sian A’Hern

Elite MTB Racer

Current Oceania Champion, National Championship silver medalist 

Scott Bowden

Road/MTB racer

2016 Olympian; Road, MTB

Ben Stewart

Founder, Cycling Dads Oz

Commuter and advocate

Hank Duchateau

Adaptive MTBA racer

3 x Pan Pacific Games gold medallist

Glenn Jacobs

World-trail Founder
MTBA Life Member

Jackson Frew
MTBA member
Elite Downhill Racer, 2019 Oceania Champion

Lee Turner

Rider, Commentator

Fmr Pres St Kilda CC

Robert Crowe

Director, Ridewiser Training

Olympic Cyclist

Nicholas Squillari

VeloKicks owner. 

Multiple Victorian elite time trial champion

David Heatley

Elite Cycling Coach


Pat Lane

GM – Racing, InformMake
Fmr International racer

Mark Ferguson

Video Creator

Cycling Maven on YouTube

Mike Clucas

Founder, FulGaz.com
Fmr National level racer

Jeff Hughes

Chair technical and sporting commission, MTBA

Organiser and race director.

Sarah Jane Riley

MTBA Member

4 times XCO and XCM National Team 

Susan Mitchell

National Commissaire- MTB, Road & Track

Nicola Rutzou

Women’s Cycling blogger 

LACC Committee Member

Adam Kelsall

UCI Level 2 MTB Coach. Australian XCO Worlds Team – support – 2017, 2018, 2019 

Cameron McKimm

Owner InForm Racing

NRS winning team

Madeline Steele

Team Manager – Butterfields Racing

Stuart McKenzie

National Cycling Coach

National Road Series DS

Cameron Wright

Professional Mountain biker

2017 Junior World Champion

Tom Robinson

Coach, MyBikeCoach.com 

Fmr NRS racer

Shannon Johnson

Bike Store Owner

NRS road and MTB masters winner


Related News

There are no news related to We, the undersigned: The AusCycling Supporters Open Letter

Our Partners

Website Powered by Newbook Creative