All News

Lisa Mathison voted most popular female cyclist

The results are in for the SBS Female Cyclist Poll, and Lisa Mathison has just pipped Oenone Wood as Australia's most popular female cyclist.

Sara Carrigan 4.1%

Anna Meares 11.1%

Oenone Wood 41.3%

Katie Mactier 1.5%

Lisa Mathison 41.9%

Again thanks to everyone and Cycling Central will be replaying its show which announces this great result as well as coverage of Lithgow DH#3 at 3.30 pm on Tuesday if anyone missed it and would like to see it.

... Read More

Tour de Dirt, XC#4, Close Racing comes to Canberra

The 4th round of the national XC season hit Canberra in the best way possible on the weekend when 215 riders contested the Tour de Dirt, one of Canberra Off Road Cyclist's signature events. The club has run this event for over 5 years and each time the event gets better, the racing gets closer and the courses get harder and more testing.

This year was no exception with very testing weather conditions on the first two stages extending riders but cooler temperatures and light rain on the third stage making the race to overall position very exciting indeed.

Local rider Dylan Cooper proved victorious in the Elite Men category after the three stages from Daniel McConnell and Murray Spink. In the Elite Women category endurance specialist Tory Thomas proved too strong for Emma Coulson and local rider Niki Fisher.

Individual stage results and final standings from the Tour de Dirt are available on MTBA website Results pages.

... Read More

2005 National Championships website is live

The hosts of the 2005 MTBA National Championships to be staged in Eildon from 17 - 20th March have announced the dedicated website is now live.

Check out:

Entry is available on-line through this website. Accommodation details are also available as well as the many extra things you can do in this very diverse area.

... Read More

2005 Oceania Championships: More details

Discussions with Cycling Australia have revealed more details about the Oceania Championships to be hosted at Mt. Buller on 2-3 April 2005.

1. Nominations will be called for in early to mid February. Self nomination will apply.
2. Nominations are open to Junior (U19) and Elite aged athletes.
3. Once nominations are closed, the names will be sent to the Australian MTB selectors for confirmation by early March.
4. There is essentially no limitation to the Australian team size.
5. The nomination fee is unknown at this time.
6. The preliminary schedule is, Saturday 2nd April: XC, Sunday 3rd April: DH

... Read More

Lithgow DH#3, January 8-9 Results

The third round of the national DH series was a huge success with 220 riders contesting a track which, while achieveable, was still a great test of skill and strength.

The course consisted of a pedally top section including a huge road jump and small double which led into the most technical section of the course. This section included a steep rock slope of weathered sandstone with several steps, tight turns and, by race day full of braking stutters. This section was a spectators paradise. The final section was a very fast firm, almost cement surface like track with fast sweeping corners and on which riders were travelling at warp speed towards the finish.

The track as a whole certainly made the riders work!

At the end of a hard day's racing the fastest run of the day belonged to Nathan Rennie at 2m58.18s. Full results are available in the results page on the MTBA website.

... Read More

Tour de Dirt, XC#4, Canberra, ACT 15-16 January

Information about the Tour de Dirt in Canberra is available as a downloadable form in the MTBA calendar section and entry is available on-line at

This event always attracts the best riders in Australia and comprises a short course XC, long loop point to point (about 50km for Elite Men) on Saturday and a fast and furious XC on Sunday.

... Read More

Lithgow DH#3, January 8-9

The entry form for Lithgow (DH#3) is available in the calendar pages of the MTBA website and additional information is also available at This venue has been very well received and don't forget the Black Phoenix DVD screening on Saturday night at the Lithgow Workmens Club.

... Read More

Vote for Lisa Mathison in SBS Cycling Central Poll

Cycling Central on SBS are running a poll on female cyclists in which Lisa Mathison is the lone female MTB athlete.

Log onto and choosing the voting poll link on the left hand side to vote. We hope you will vote for Lisa - and often!

As an aside, the extend that Lisa is supported may show the following behind MTB in Australia and also that a lot of MTB riders also enjoy what SBS is doing in presenting shows like Cycling Central and covering cycling in general.

... Read More

Merry Christmas

To all MTBA members, supporters and friends, I and all the MTBA executive wish you a very and most joyous Christmas. If you are at home with friends and family; enjoy. If you are driving somewhere, remember to drive safely and rest often.

We take the opportunity to also wish you all the best for 2005 in all your adventures in life and mountain biking.

Tony Scott, Gillian Duncan, Bruce Dickey, Vanessa Medder and Peter Gaull

... Read More

2005 MTB Oceania Championships, April 2-3 2005

The venues and dates for the 2005 Mountain Bike Oceania Championships have been confirmed.

Both XC and DH competitions will be staged at Mt. Buller, about 3 hours north of Melbourne in the beautiful Victorian snowfield resort area.

The Cross Country will be held on Saturday April 2nd while the Down Hill will be held on Sunday April 3rd.

The UCI have enforced the ruling after the 2004 event, that those competing at the Oceania Games have to be Nationally selected riders in a National Team.

The numbers and makeup of the Australian national team will be determined early in 2005.

More details will be announced as they come to hand.

... Read More

Our Partners

Website Powered by Newbook Creative