All News

Cycling Australia announces 2004 Olympic MTB athletes

Cycling Australia today announced the 3 cyclists it proposes to nominate to the Australian Olympic Committee for selection in the Australian MTB team for the 2004 Athens Olympic Games.

The nominees have qualified for selection as per the 2004 Australian Olympic Team Nomination Criteria but selection of the Olympic Team will be conducted solely by the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC). Selection may also be contingent any appeals lodged against non-nomination. The closing date for notification to Cycling Australia of an appeal against non-nomination is 5.00pm (AEST) Tuesday July 6, 2004.

Mountain Bike XC – Men
• Chris JONGEWAARD (SA) 18.07.1979
• Sid TABERLAY (TAS) 22.01.1980

Mountain Bike XC – Women
• Lisa MATHISON (QLD) 31.01.1985

For a complete list of all 25 cycling athletes nominated by CA for the 2004 Olympics go to

... Read More

MONT 24Hr Mountain Bike Championship

The largest mountain bike in Australia has just been run in Canberra ACT. With approximately 5500 in the forest, 525 on track at once, 2200 riders, 8400 laps and a distance ridden of 4 times around the planet the logistical requirements are mind numbing, but Canberra Off Road Cyclists once again pulled it off. The Solo Australian Championship jersies were awarded to Josh Street won the solo male class again with 21 laps in 24h 23m and Tory Thomas winning the female solo class with 17 laps in 24h 28m. Fastest times on the event in night and day was taken out by Trent Lowe. The overall winner was by a 4-man team of Dylan Cooper, Richard Vollebregt, James Williamson and Nick Kiraly who rode 28 laps in 24h 39m. Full results are available here.

... Read More

2004/2005 national Series calendar updated

The 2004/2005 National MTB Series calendar has been updated to include Bike Trials and Mountain Cross. See the new calendar here

... Read More

Minutes of half yearly MTBA Executive meeting, 23rd October 2004

The half yearly MTBA executive meeting was held in Melbourne during the Australian Bike Show. The minutes are here.

Document Download:
2004 Semi Exec Meeting (PDF - 90 Kb)

... Read More

MTBA AGM Minutes 2004

Minutes from the MTBA AGM in Eildon on Saturday 28th February. The meeting opened at about 8.00pm.

Document Download:
2004 AGM Minutes (PDF - 55 Kb)

... Read More

Our Partners

Website Powered by Newbook Creative