Overall Winner Decided at WA 100 MTB Classic

Posted by jo-2, August 22, 2018

Brendan Johnston took out the final round of the 2018 National Marathon Series at the WA 100 MTB Classic at Dwellingup, Western Australia over the weekend but it was Cameron Ivory who claimed the overall series victory in the elite men.

While current Australian elite women’s champion Anna Beck rounded the national season off by claiming her third victory of the series and claimed the overall title.

More than a thousand people turned out for the event, which incorporated four different distances and a trail run and was only resurrected six weeks ago after the original event, The Dewellingup 100 was cancelled.

It was a mammoth effort from Tony Tucknott and a massive team of volunteers to make the weekends event happen. 

Johnston finished ahead of Michael England and Jon Gregg after more than four hours in the saddle over the 104 kilometre distance.

While Beck, who claimed the first round in Alice Springs, saw off the challenge of Briony Mattocks, competing in her first race of the series this year and local West Australian Stef Van Amerongen with a time of 5:04:11.


Photo Credit: Travis Deane

Related News

There are no news related to Overall Winner Decided at WA 100 MTB Classic

Our Partners

Website Powered by Newbook Creative