Day 2 Race Re-Cap

Posted by jo-2, March 14, 2020

It was an action packed second day for the 2020 MTBA National Championships in Bright, Victoria with seven Australian titles on the line.

The formula one of cross-country racing saw the dust fly around the shortened race circuit with Cameron Ivory taking the top step in elite men ahead of Seb Jayne and Tristan Ward.

Rebecca McConnell began her campaign also with gold ahead of Peta Mullens and Kathryn McInerney.

While Armidale’s Mick Harris held off a Cameron Wright finishing straight burst to win a classic Under 23 XCC battle while the winning ways of Zoe Cuthbert continued with victory in the women.

In XCO racing it was Queenslands Joel Dodd’s who showed his smashing ride in Dunedin earlier in the year was no flash in the pan as he blitzed the 46 rider field to win the Under 17 national title.

“I’ve been training hard and having fun out there. It was great and I was pushing hard all the way through”.

With a large lead Joel was mostly out on his own: “I saw them (my competitors) in a couple of places on the first couple of laps and them I didn’t really seem them after that”.

Hayley Oaks ensured that she would end her final year in the Under 17’s as the reigning National Champion.

“It was really tough but I just loved every minute of it. The track was running pretty well, it was good fun”.

“It’s a real honour to be able to dress up in the green and gold, it is a good feeling especially for my team, I’m really proud”.

 While in a first for the event the Trials were held at the Bright Brewery to a captive audience and it was Nathan Mummery who again ensured he would claim his place as Australia’s number one.

In the downhill it was Sian A’Hern who would be last down the hill in the elite women after topping seeding.

While Jackson Frew put down the fastest time in seeding with a 3:35:804 with Troy Brosnan second and local Aaron Gungl in third.

Luke Meier-Smith and Cassie Voysey topped the junior times.


Related News

There are no news related to Day 2 Race Re-Cap

Our Partners

Website Powered by Newbook Creative