Australian CX Riders Bound for Valkenburg

Posted by mtba, November 7, 2017

Australia will send 10 riders to compete at the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships held in Valkenburg, Netherlands from February 3-4, 2018.

The team, is a mixture of experience and youth with a number of riders participating in their very first world championships.

Garry Millburn, who has been racing over on the American CX Circuit the past few months and claimed a win in the US Open in Colarado, will be contesting his third world champs in the elite men and is out to improve upon his 38th placing last year.

Natalie Redmond, the elite women’s silver medallist at this year’s national championships, will compete in her second world championship.

The South Australian has been taking on the might of the Europeans on their home turf since September. 

“This gives me a significant advantage in terms of building race specific fitness and accumulating UCI points to improve my grid position,” she said.

“I feel that despite coming from a developing nation for cyclo-cross I have earned the right to line up on the start line next to these riders.”

She will be joined by fellow Adelaide rider Stacey Riedel.

In the Under 23 men Ben Walkerden, will be competing at his third world championships.

“Already living and racing in Europe definitely helps prepare you, as the condition of mud, sand and the cold makes racing here is nothing like in Australia,” he said. 

The Victorian will be joined by and first timers Declan Prosser,  Will Ockenden who are excited about taking on not just the competition but the weather conditions.

 “I will need to work on my skills as the courses look a lot more technical so it will be very testing. I am ready for any conditions from bone dry to soaking wet, I will enjoy the race either way,” Prosser said.

All three junior men Alexander Matthews, Zach Larsson and Anakin Williams  will make their world championships debut in Luxembourg.

“I feel really happy to represent my country, sponsors and family. I have always dreamt about racing for Australia since I was young and have never been livelier to do so,” said Larsson the current Australian junior champion.

Australian Cyclo-Cross Team:

Elite Men 
Garry Millburn (NSW)
Elite Women
Natalie Redmond (SA)
Stacey Riedel (SA)
U23 Men
Ben Walkerden (VIC)
Nicholas Smith (NSW)
Declan Prosser (ACT)
William Ockenden (VIC)
Junior Men
Anakin Williams (VIC)
Alexander Matthews (VIC)
Zach Larsson (QLD)
Photo Credit: Ernesto Arriagada 

Related News

There are no news related to Australian CX Riders Bound for Valkenburg

Our Partners

Website Powered by Xtreme IT